Select Page

Hospitals chosen for second phase of COIIN pilot

Hospitals chosen for second phase of COIIN pilot

Thirty-six transplant hospitals (listed below) have been selected to participate in the second pilot phase of COIIN (the Collaborative Innovation and Improvement Network), a three-year project intended to increase kidney utilization and study new methods of quality monitoring. The number of participants in the second cohort is nearly double the number of hospitals selected for the first phase.

“We are pleased to have so many programs who meet the qualifications and are committed to innovative approaches to make more transplants possible, “ said David Klassen, M.D., chair of the COIIN Advisory Council and UNOS’ Chief Medical Officer. “They will refine and add to lessons learned during the initial pilot phase of the project.”

Each pilot hospital will create and test improvement aims during successive rapid improvement cycles and can share lessons learned with other study participants on an interactive, virtual learning site. Hospitals can also monitor their improvement in key measures including outcomes, processes, relationships, and structures.

Another key aim of the COIIN project is testing potential improvements to the program performance review process. During the study, participants will be exempt from the traditional review of patient and kidney graft survival performed by the OPTN Membership and Professional Standards Committee (MPSC). They will participate in an alternative, collaborative quality improvement framework to drive improvements in organ offer and acceptance, waitlist management, and care coordination.

Training and coaching for pilot participants will begin in July 2017, and the data collection and collaborative learning will begin in October 2017.

For more information, contact Nicole Benjamin, UNOS’ Program Manager for COIIN, at 804-782-4622 or [email protected].

Phase II Pilot COIIN Participating Hospitals

  • Banner University Medical Center, Phoenix, Ariz.
  • Banner University Medical Center, Tucson, Ariz.
  • California Pacific Medical Center, San Francisco, Calif.
  • Duke University Hospital, Durham, N.C.
  • Erie County Medical Center, Buffalo, N.Y.
  • Florida Hospital Transplant Institute, Orlando, Fla.
  • Hahnemann University Hospital, Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Hartford Hospital, Hartford, Conn.
  • Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, Mich.
  • Indiana University Health University Hospital, Indianapolis, Ind.
  • Iowa Methodist Medical Center, Des Moines, Iowa
  • Jewish Hospital, Louisville, Ky.
  • Lehigh Valley Hospital, Allentown, Pa.
  • Loyola University Medical Center, Maywood, Ill.
  • Medical City Fort Worth, Fort Worth, Texas
  • Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, S.C.
  • Memorial Herrmann Hospital-Texas Medical Center, Houston, Texas
  • Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, N.Y.
  • Nebraska Medicine, Omaha, Neb.
  • Piedmont Transplant Institute, Atlanta, Ga.
  • Rochester Methodist Hospital-Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.
  • Sacred Heart Medical Center, Spokane, Wash.
  • Saint Barnabas Medical Center, Livingston, N.J.
  • Saint Luke’s Hospital of Kansas City, Kansas City, Mo.
  • SSM Health St. Louis University Hospital, St. Louis, Mo.
  • St. Vincent Medical Center, Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Strong Memorial Hospital/University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, N.Y.
  • Swedish Medical Center, Seattle, Wash.
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, Ala.
  • University of California San Diego School of Medicine, San Diego, Calif.
  • University of California San Francisco Medical Center, San Francisco, Calif.
  • University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics, Iowa City, Iowa
  • University of Kansas Hospital, Kansas City, Kan.
  • University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Texas
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas
  • Willis-Knighton Medical Center, Shreveport, La.
Share This