Matching organs. Saving lives.


Nominees chosen for 2015 board of directors election

At its November meeting, the OPTN/UNOS Board of Directors approved the following slate of nominees for Board appointments beginning in June 2015. The OPTN Board of Directors also functions as the UNOS Board of Directors.

OPTN/UNOS member voting representatives will receive a ballot and biographical information for the nominees in January or February (specific date to be determined).

President (vote for one)

  • Betsy J. Walsh, J.D., M.P.H.

Vice President/President-Elect (vote for one)

  • Ruth A. McDonald, M.D.; Seattle Children’s Hospital
  • Stuart C. Sweet, M.D., Ph.D.; St. Louis Children’s Hospital

Immediate Past President (vote for one)

  • Carl L. Berg, M.D.; Duke University Hospital

Treasurer (vote for one)

  • Barry C. Massa, M.B.A.; LifeCenter Organ Donor Network
  • Richard E. Pietroski, M.S., CPTC; Gift of Life Michigan

Regional Councillors

Region 2

  • David J. Reich, M.D.; Hahnemann University Hospital

Region 8

  • Christie P. Thomas, M.B., FRCP, FASN, FAHA; University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics

Region 10

  • Tim E. Taber, M.D.; Indiana University Health

Region 11

  • Robert J. Stratta, M.D.; Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center

Minority Transplant Professional Representative (vote for one)

  • Cass Franklin, M.D.; Mercy Medical Center
  • Fuad S. Shihab, M.D.; University of Utah Medical Center

At Large M.D. Representative (vote for one)

  • Sharon M. Bartosh, M.D.; University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics
  • Phillip C. Camp, Jr., M.D.; Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Patient and Donor Affairs and Voluntary Health Organization Representatives (vote for four)

  • Mary J. Baliker
  • Mindy M. Burchfield, RN, B.S.N.
  • James M. Gleason, B.S., M.A.
  • Kim B. Harbur, B.S.
  • Susan E. Light, M.D.
  • Deanna L. Santana, B.S.

Histocompatibility Representative (vote for one)

  • Patricia M. Kopko, M.D., FCAP; BloodSource, Inc.
  • Anat R. Tambur, D.M.D., Ph.D, D(ABHI); Northwestern Memorial Hospital

OPO Representative (vote for one)

  • John (Jay) D. Campbell, PA, J.D.; Wisconsin Donor Network

Transplant Coordinator Representative (vote for one)

  • Walt Nickels, R.N., B.S.N., CCRN, CPTC; Arkansas Regional Organ Recovery Agency

United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) serves as the Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network (OPTN) by contract with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Division of Transplantation. The OPTN brings together medical professionals, transplant recipients and donor families to develop organ transplantation policy.

Share This